Township of Monroe

In 2018, the Monroe Township Council’s regular meetings will be held the first Monday of each month at 7 p.m. and the agenda meetings on the last Monday of each month at 7 p.m. Click here for the 2018 Township Council Schedule.

Mayor and Township Council

Mayor Gerald W. Tamburro

Mayor Gerald W. Tamburro was elected in November 2015 and sworn-in as the Township's new Mayor on January 1, 2016 for a term of four years.  He resides in Greenbriar with his wife Carole and has six children and nine grandchildren.

A retired banker, Mayor Tamburro served as Vice-President of Commercial Lending for National State Bank of Elizabeth and as President of a community state bank in NJ. He earned his Bachelor’s Degree from Seton Hall University and is a graduate of the Stonier Graduate School of Banking, Rutgers University.

Prior to being elected Mayor, Mayor Tamburro had been elected in November 2001 as the Second Ward Council representative, serving as Council President for eight years.  Mayor Tamburro is currently a member on the Monroe Township Planning Board and formerly served as Chairman of the Affordable Housing Board, Chairman of the Master Plan Review Committee, Council Representative to the ADA Committee, Vice-Chairman of the Middlesex County Planning Board and former member of the Monroe Township Planning Board and NJ Training School Citizens Review Committee.


Stephen Dalina, Council President

Council Vice-President Stephen Dalina has served as Councilman At-Large since 2011 and has lived in the Third Ward with his wife Susan and two children since 1998.

Council Vice-President Dalina is currently the Assistant Director for Rutgers University Business and Administrative Services. He also serves as a part-time lecturer in the School of Communication at Rutgers. He earned his Bachelor of Arts Degree from Rider University and has a Master of Library Science Degree from Rutgers University.

Council Vice-President Dalina currently serves as the Mayor’s Representative on the Library Board of Trustees, Council Representative on the Recreation Advisory Board and Citizen Review Board; formerly served as Chairman of both the Monroe Township Zoning Board of Adjustment since 2002 and the Recreation Advisory Board; member of the Monroe Township Baseball Association Executive Board, serving as League President in 2007-2008, Rutgers Club President 2005-2010, and previously serving as Secretary, Treasurer and President of the Northern New Jersey Chapter of ARMA.


Elizabeth "Betty" Schneider, Council Vice President

Councilwoman Elizabeth “Betty” Schneider was elected to office in November 2013, serving as a representative of the First Ward and is a resident of Rossmoor. Prior to being elected as a Council Member, she had served as a member on the Zoning Board of Adjustment.

Before moving to Monroe, Councilwoman Schneider served for twenty years as a member of the North Brunswick Board of Education and is currently a member of the Monroe Education Foundation. Councilwoman Schneider currently serves as Council Representative to the Human Relations Commission and as liaison to the Monroe Township High School Key Club. She had formerly served as President of the Rossmoor Kiwanis Club and as a Mutual Director in Rossmoor.


Miriam Cohen, Councilwoman

The Monroe Township Council appointed Councilwoman Miriam Cohen to an open At-Large seat in March 2017. Cohen earned a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Adelphi University and went on to complete a master’s degree in community health nursing from Rutgers University.  Her past titles include senior consultant for MIIX Healthcare Group, director of referrals at the Essex Valley Visiting Nurses Association, public health nursing supervisor at the Middlesex County Public Health Department and most recently, director of disaster planning for the New Jersey Primary Care Association.  Cohen is currently a registered nurse and an adjunct professor at The College of New Jersey.   An avid tap dancer and devoted wife and grandmother to five, Cohen previously headed East Brunswick’s League of Women Voters, is a former member of the Monroe Township Affordable Housing Board and serves as president of the Whittingham Homeowner’s Association in Greenbriar at Whittingham. 


Leonard Baskin, Councilman

Leonard Baskin was appointed as second ward Councilman in July 2017. He was elected to his first four- year term in November 2017. A resident of the Stonebridge community, Monroe has been Baskin’s home for more than a decade. He is a proud father and grandfather to two daughters and two grandchildren. Baskin majored in chemistry at Trinity College in Hartford, Conn. and later, earned a doctorate in biochemistry from John Hopkins University in Baltimore. Among his many professional roles, Baskin taught at Stevens Institute of Technology and conducted research at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey and the Veterans Assistance Medical Center in Brooklyn. Today, he keeps busy as a part-time substitute teacher and tutor. Councilman Baskin is a founding member of the Monroe Township Community Garden and has previously been a member of the Monroe Shade Tree Commission and the Mayor’s Senior Advisory Committee.




Councilman Charles Dipierro

Councilman Charles Dipierro was sworn into office for his first term on the Monroe Township Council in January 2018. Dipierro is a lifelong and third-generation resident of Monroe and a product of the Township’s school system. After graduating from Monroe Township High School in 1979, Dipierro went on to attend Richard Stockton College in Galloway, earning a bachelor’s degree in business and accounting with a minor in computer science. He married his high school sweetheart, Beth, in 1984 and the pair settled in Monroe, where they raised their two children, Jonathan and Lauren. Professionally, he has owned several local businesses that included landscaping, contracting and paving companies. Dipierro opened his own real estate company in Monroe in 1999. He previously served on Monroe’s Industrial Commission, which later would become the Economic Development Commission. In 2004, Dipierro was elected as a Commissioner for Fire District No. 1, where he’s served as Chairman for the past eight years.

© Monroe Township. All rights reserved.
Designed and Hosted by Princeton Online